GJGS Foundation

The Grand Junction Geological Society Foundation, Inc. was formed as a State of Colorado non-profit corporation in 2013 to support the objectives of the Grand Junction Geological Society. Federal nonprofit status under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code was granted on May 23, 2014. The Foundation's Statement of Purpose, as described in its Articles of Incorporation, is:


The nonprofit corporation is organized exclusively for the charitable, educational, and scientific purposes of advancing and promoting the science of geology; granting scholarships and other financial aid to promising geology students; and making distributions for the foregoing purposes to other geological organizations that qualify as exempt organizations under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code, or the corresponding section of any future federal tax code.


The original funding of the Foundation was made possible by the Society's share of the proceeds generated by hosting the 2012 Rocky Mountain Section AAPG Meeting. Board members of the Foundation at its inception were Ed Baltzer, Chuck Burch, Bill Chenoweth, Skip Hase, Larry Luebke, Heidi Schoenstein, and Bob Suydam. Bill Hood is Secretary, and he  deserves special thanks for his hard work to establish the Foundation.

Contributions to the Foundation to further its objectives are deductible from the donor's federal taxes as charitable contributions. The Foundation welcomes any financial contributions. For any questions about contributions or requests, please contact us by mail at :  GJGS Foundation, P.O. Box 4045, Grand Junction, CO, 81502-4045.


GJGS Foundation, Inc. Board of Directors

President - Jerry Daub
Vice President - Andres Aslan  
Treasurer - Craig Goodknight 
Past President - Larry Luebke  
Director - Ben Haveman  (Three years left)
Director - Larry Leubke 
(One years left)
Director - Ian Shafer  (Two years left)
Director - Bob Suydam  (Permanent)
Director - Jay Scheevel  (Permanent)
Director/Secretary - Bill Hood   (Permanent)